All systems go

The city of Nairobi is a buzz of activity when it comes to business and pleasure as well. If you search around you will find numerous blogs and publications dedicated to either business or leisure activities around the city. What really counts here is the accuracy of the information you find because many fabrications of gutter press might lead you to make plans around non-existent establishments-whether you are into business or pleasure or a mixture of both. Institutions of learning have not been left behind in advertising courses and programmes that are literally only available in their catalogues and online advertisements. One is only shocked to find that what they saw is not what they get.

At one time, I came across a very frustrated student who walked into my cyber cafe to ask for help logging into the student portal of the university he had enrolled in a few weeks ago. I had to calm the young man down first before explaining that only their university’s official  ICT administrator could sort him out. I quickly declined his request to hack into the system for a small fee. He elucidated that he had cleared all  fee balances but the system had locked him out of booking his units! He added that his mother was quite the domestic tyrant and she would not take any story short of examination results at the end of the semester.

AIU2Truth is, as much as I posses the know how- I would not entertain the thoughts of hacking a system even to salvage the situation of this poor soul. See, I live by the basic instructions of two scriptures where human relations are involved. One of them states “If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.James 4:17 and one in Proverbs 3:27 “Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, When it is in your power to do it. Do not say to your neighbor, “Go, and come back, And tomorrow I will give it,” When you have it with you.…

Now these two scriptures have helped me to do the right thing in many instances. And even if these were not there, I would still ask myself, ‘What would Jesus do?’ Just when I thought the young man’s narrative of mental torture in the hands of his educators, he continued to reveal, “Do you know the first time I registered at the university, I chose a course that existed only on their website! I was so infuriated when I was informed that I would have to choose another course!” This is the fate many of those in search of university education in our city and beyond today but I know university that has very truthful information available both online and offline. Ladies and gentlemen, try the Africa International University offering a range of programmes in the arts and social sciences as well as technology based programmes like IT.

Leave a Reply

